Field Hockey Lands Eight On NFHCA Academic Squad

2017 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad

GENESEO, N.Y. – Eight members of the 2016 State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) Champion Geneseo field hockey team were named to the Zag Field Hockey/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division III National Academic Squad

Junior midfielder Diana Ruggiero, junior forward Cara Stafford, sophomore midfielder Madison Albrecht, sophomore midfielder Sarah Lilley, sophomore Tess Necaise, first-year forward Erin Nolan, first-year defender Gabrielle Sousa and first-year midfielder Ariana Walczyk were among the 1,604 student-athletes from across the country honored for compiling a minimum 3.30 grade point average through the fall semester.

Geneseo finished the season with an 11-10 record, including a 4-2 SUNYAC mark to earn the third-seed for the conference tournament. The Knights upset second-seeded New Paltz, 1-0 (Nov. 2), in the semifinals before taking down Oneonta in the championship match to earn its first SUNYAC crown and bid to the NCAA Division III Tournament since 2010. Geneseo fell at Keene State, 3-1, in the first round of the national tournament.