Ramirez Voted 2019 SUNYAC Dolores Bogard Award Winner

GENESEO, N.Y. - SUNY Geneseo senior Elise Ramirez was voted a co-recipient of the 2019 State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) Dr. Dolores Bogard Award. The annual honor recognizes a senior female student-athlete with the best combination of academic and athletic ability, as voted upon by the membership body. Ramirez shared the award with Plattsburgh softball player Jennifer Groat. 

Ramirez closed her Geneseo career with a runner-up finish in the 5,000 (17:07.34) at the NCAA Division III Outdoor Championships for her third All-America citation. She also graduated with a 3.70 grade point average majoring in biology last month.

A 2019 Google Cloud/CoSIDA Academic All-District selection, Ramirez was voted the Atlantic Region and SUNYAC Outdoor Track & Field Runner of the Year after a spring that included running the nation's sixth-fastest 1,500 time and winning the SUNYAC 5,000 Championship.

Ramirez' standout senior campaign included 2018 USTFCCCA Atlantic Region and SUNYAC Women's Cross Country Runner of the Year honors last fall after winning individual titles at both championship meets. She also finished an All-American seventh in the 5,000 during the NCAA Indoor Championships after placing 25th at the NCAA Cross Country Championships.

The Phi Beta Kappa inductee also swept the SUNYAC Women's Indoor Track & Field, Women's Outdoor Track & Field and Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

Ramirez is the 10th Knight to win the Bogard Award and is the first since field hockey standout Michelle Milkovich in 2011. Geneseo has the most Bogard honorees since the first year of the award in 1984. 

The award is named after Dr. Dolores Bogard, who was an administrator and coach at Cortland for over twenty years. She served as SUNYAC President during the 1987-88 year.

Geneseo Winners - Dr. Dolores Bogard Award
2019 - Elise Ramirez (Women's Cross Country/Track & Field)
2011 - Michelle Milkovich (Field Hockey)
2010 - Sandra Goettleman (Women's Cross Country/Track & Field)
2008 - Liz Montgomery (Women's Track & Field)
2007 - Christy Finke (Women's Cross Country/Track & Field)
2002 - Melissa White (Women's Cross Country/Track & Field)
1997 - Megan Mackey (Women's Basketball)
1995 - Keena Bush (Women's Track & Field)
1987 - Sue Lind (Women's Basketball)