Doser Honored with Dr. Sam Molnar Award

GENESEO, N.Y. - SUNY Geneseo men's swimming & diving senior Jeff Doser was selected as the Dr. Sam Molnar Award winner by the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) on Friday.

The annual award is given to a senior male student-athlete with the best combination of academic and athletic ability as voted upon by conference members. Doser is the ninth Geneseo student-athlete to earn the Dr. Sam Molnar Award and the fourth in the past five years.

A senior captain for the men's swimming & diving team, Doser earned a combined 14 individual and relay conference championships as the Knights won SUNYAC crowns in all four years that he competed.  Doser was a four-time All-SUNYAC team member, a two-time SUNYAC Men's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and two-time SUNY Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete Award winner. He qualified for the NCAA Division III Swimming & Diving Championships in each of the last two seasons and holds SUNYAC records in the 200 free relay, 400 free relay, 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay. In addition, he also holds Geneseo program records in the 200 free, 200 free relay, 400 free relay, 200 medley relay & 400 medley relay. 

A mathematics and biology double-major, Doser graduated with a 3.86 cumulative GPA and received the Dr. Dan Mullin Scholar-Athlete Award, given to Geneseo's most outstanding senior male scholar-athlete. A two-time CoSIDA Academic All-District selection, Doser is a member of Phi Beta Kappa national honors society and Sigma Xi research society, and was named to the Dean's List four times while earning two President's List nods. He was the recipient of the Geneseo Foundation scholarship, Edgar Fellows Honors scholarship, and the Barry M. Goldwater scholarship. Doser will attend Michigan State to pursue a doctorate in forestry and a master's in computational mathematics, science and engineering.

The men's award is named after the late Dr. Sam Molnar, who was the Director of Athletics at Potsdam for over thirty years, caoching various sports during his tenure. He served as SUNYAC President from 1962-64.

2017-18 - Jeff Doser (Men's Swimming & Diving)
2016-17 - Brad Campion (Men's Soccer)
2014-15 - Gordon Lyons (Men's Basketball)
2013-14 - Jack Caradonna (Men's Ice Hockey)
2003-04 - Paul Weismann (Men's Ice Hockey)
1998-99 - Josh Muldner (Men's Swimming & Diving)
1994-95 - Edward Curry (Men's Soccer)
1990-91 - Thomas Van de Water (Men's Swimming & Diving)
1977-78 - James R. DeWitt (Men's Swimming & Diving)

SUNYAC Championship Central
October 24, 2017 SUNYAC Championship Central