Campion Named Dr. Sam Molnar Award Winner

CORTLAND, N.Y. - SUNY Geneseo senior defenseman Brad Campion was selected as the Dr. Sam Molnar Award winner by the State University of New York Athletic Conference on Tuesday.

The annual award is given to a senior male student-athlete with the best combination of academic and athletic ability as voted upon by conference members. Campion is the eighth Geneseo student-athlete to earn the Dr. Sam Molnar Award and the third in the past four years.

A senior captain for the Geneseo men's soccer team, Campion started in 53 out of 54 career matches for the Knights. During his career, Campion earned three SUNYAC First Team All-Conference selections and a 2014 NSCAA All-East Region Third-Team selection.

In addition to his outstanding play, Campion's academic achievements earned him the 2017 SUNYAC Men's Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and the 2017 Dr. Dan Mullin Scholar-Athlete Award. The senior is a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American, SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence recipient, SUNY Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete Award honoree, and two-time SUNYAC Commissioner's List and All-Academic Team member.

Majoring in history and adolescent education, including a minor in political science, Campion was a six-time Dean's List honoree. He was actively involved in Geneseo's History Club, Kappa Delta Pi Education Honor Society and the Elementary and Secondary Education Association (ESEA). Additionally, Campion was appointed member of the Undergraduate Student Association Elections Committee (USAEC) and served as the president of Geneseo's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and a representative on the SUNYAC SAAC. 

The men's award is named after the late Dr. Sam Molnar, who was the Director of Athletics at Potsdam for over thirty years, caoching various sports during his tenure. He served as SUNYAC President from 1962-64.

2016-17 - Brad Campion (Men's Soccer)
2014-15 - Gordon Lyons (Men's Basketball)
2013-14 - Jack Caradonna (Men's Ice Hockey)
2003-04 - Paul Weismann (Men's Ice Hockey)
1998-99 - Josh Muldner (Men's Swimming & Diving)
1994-95 - Edward Curry (Men's Soccer)
1990-91 - Thomas Van de Water (Men's Swimming & Diving)
1977-78 - James R. DeWitt (Men's Swimming & Diving)