Knights Claim Third-Consecutive SUNYAC Commissioner's Cup

GENESEO, N.Y. - SUNY Geneseo won its third-consecutive State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) Dr. Patrick R. Damore Commissioner's Cup, announced Monday at the conference's annual awards banquet.

The Knights finished with an average of 8.34 points to add its fourth cup championship in the 21-year history of the award after also winning the title following the 2002-03 campaign. Cortland, a 17-time winner and the only other recipient of the cup, came in second with an average of 7.36 points followed by Oneonta in third with 7.12 points. 

Geneseo captured four SUNYAC titles in the fall, bringing home their 10th women's tennis crown, before the women's and men's cross country teams captured their 15th and 14th titles, respectively. Field Hockey earned its second SUNYAC Championship with a thrilling 3-2 overtime victory versus Oneonta while the women's soccer team fell in the tournament championship for a runner-up finish. 

The Knights earned four titles during the winter as well, clinching their 25th overall SUNYAC women's swimming & diving crown and 24th championship in men's swimming & diving. The men's and women's track & field teams each earned their eighth SUNYAC Indoor Championship in program history. For the men, it was the first SUNYAC crown since 2011-12, while the women hadn't finished atop the conference since the 2005-06 season. The women's basketball team also logged a runner-up finish. 

Geneseo wrapped up the cup in the spring after the women's track & field team won its second championship in three years, while the men finished runner-up. The women's lacrosse team logged a third-place finish while the men's lacrosse team finished fourth after making their first postseason appearance in five years. 

The Commissioner's Cup point system is determined by the 20 different conference sports in the fall, winter and spring. A 10-point system is used in each sport. The first-place team gets 10 points, the second-place team gets 9 points and so on. A team's regular-season finish will be added to their post-season finish and divided by two for their final total for that sport. The total number of points that a school accumulates is divided by the number of conference sports it has. This school total determines the overall winner at the end of the school year.